Willy Ronis @ Les Rencontres Arles Photographie 2009

IMG_4171 copy

Flying into Nimes, © Miranda Gavin 2009.

When I see Willy Ronis in the street on the second day of Les Rencontres Arles professional week, it’s a great welcome to Arles 2009. He’s 99 years old (born in 1910) and not only pronounces my name beautifully when I tell him – so he can write a dedication in my Willy Ronis, Photo Poche – but spells and dates it correctly. Hope I’m as sharp if I get to my 90s. There’s a lot to cover so will be writing regular updates over the next four days.

MirandaandWilly

Meeting Willy Ronis and getting my Photo Poche signed, © Lisa Barber 2009

Thanks to Thierry Bourque from the Olympus area at the Hotel D’Arlatan for helping me download the photos I needed for the blog.

Miranda Gavin, July 2009

2 responses to “Willy Ronis @ Les Rencontres Arles Photographie 2009

  1. Thank you for your help!

  2. Pingback: Goodbye Willy Ronis – photos from Arles 2009 « HotBlog: Fresh Perspectives on Contemporary Photography

Leave a Reply

