Ian Parry Scholarship winner Maisie Crow

The 2009 winner and finalists of the Ian Parry Scholarship, an international photographic award for young and emerging photographers have been announced. Eugene Richards said: “While the Ian Parry is intended as a kind of celebration of photography, of young initiative, of the creative process, there was a seriousness, even an urgency, hanging over the judging of which I was a part. The judging was a hard-driven affair, as the gathering of photographers, critics, editors culled the large amount of photographic portfolios down to twenty-five, then ten, then eight.

Maisie Crow

© Maisie Crow, 2009. April's brother yells into her ear after she sat in his seat. April let it go on for a few moments before moving. Arguments like this occur in the house but there is often very little attention paid to them.

“Everyone in that darkened projection room came to agree that the winner of the Ian Parry had to be someone who was expressing a “personal vision,” as opposed to a more generic, commercially viable one. Plus the winner had to have something tangible to say about the world we live in. There was an undeniable sorrow in having to compare and contrast the efforts of so many aspiring young photographers. Each of us agreed that the Ian Parry award should go to Maisie Crow, for her project focused on a teenage girl coming of age in an American small town”.

Winner: Maisie Crow
Highly Commended: Ed Ou
Commended: Adam Lau
Commended: Carl Kiilsgaard
Commended: Saikat Mojumder
Go to Ian Parry for further information.

From the press release: “Save The Children are sponsoring the award by offering one of the finalists an all expenses paid international assignment of their choice, under the direction of Rachel Palmer, Photography & Film Manager for Save The Children. In addition, the World Press Photo automatically accepts the winner onto its final list of nominees for the Joop Swart Masterclass in Amsterdam. This is a significant prize for any photographer and continued with the support of the Sunday Times Magazine, which publishes all the finalists’ work. Year after year, the award has highlighted the work of some of the industry’s finest emerging talent, all of whom have progressed into professional careers and still support the award.” Previous winners include Leonie Purchas (2003) and David Hogsholt (2004).

The print exhibition will open for a week on 5 August at the Getty Images Gallery, London.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s