Sony World Photography Awards 2010 judges announced

© David Zimmerman, the 2009 L’Iris D’Or winner with his Desert Landscapes project

Sony World Photography Awards 2010 has announced the judges for the competition including photographers and visual artists working with photography. The Honorary Jury for the Sony World Photography Awards 2010 is made up of 12 specially selected World Photography Organisation Academy members. For the professional awards selection, “the 12 members will initially judge within their respective photographic genres of expertise. Later, as one collective group, they will select the overall winners in both the amateur and professional programmes, and the overall winner, the L’Iris D’Or”.  Last year’s L’Iris D’Or was awarded to David Zimmerman for his Desert Landscapes project. A jury for the Student Focus programme is also selected from the Academy members. The official pre-selection committee of the amateur competition is iStockphoto, “the internet’s original member-generated image and design community”.

For a name check on the judges, links to some of their work and a photograph from one of last year’s category winners of a lovely little Joey, surf on:

© Lisa Maree Williams/Getty Images, SUNSHINE COAST, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 15: A kangaroo joey receives treatment at The Australian Wildlife Hospital, the largest wildlife hospital in the world, on September 15, 2008 in Beerwah on The Sunshine Coast, Australia. The facility is located near Australia Zoo and was founded in 2004 by the late Steve Irwin in memory of his mother Lynn. It will be officially launched on Steve Irwin Day, November 15, 2008, to provide a surgical, rehabilitation and educational centre funded by the Wildlife Warriors Worldwide charity alongside 2.5 million dollars of donation from the Australian Government. The hospital will be able to treat up to 10,000 animals every year, and includes a koala disease research unit to help slow the rapidly declining numbers of koalas in Australia.

Commercial categories are:
Chair, Mark Sealy (UK), Director of Autograph (The Association of Black Photographers);

Nadav Kander (UK), photographer

Scott Thode (US), Deputy Picture Editor of Fortune Magazine

Chloe Limpkin (UK), Picture Director of Harper’s Bazaar.

Photojournalism and Documentary categories are:
Chair, Aidan Sullivan (UK), Vice President Getty Images;

Pablo Bartholomew (India), photographer and educator;

Roberto Koch (Italy), Publisher, Contrasto and Founder of FORMA (the international Centre of Photography in Milan)

Monica Allende (UK), Picture Editor of the Sunday Times Magazine.

Fine Art categories are:
Chair, Bill Hunt (US), Co-founder of Hasted Hunt Gallery in New York;

Trisha Ziff (Mexico), curator, scholar, film-maker;

Michelle Dunn (USA), Photo Editor of Aperture Magazine

Bohnchang Koo (Korea), photographer.

Student Focus
The judges for the Student Focus competition which involves over 120 photographic institutions around the world, are:

Adrian Evans (UK), Director of Panos pictures agency;

Adrian Boot (UK), music photographer and co-founder of urbanimage

Jonathon Torgovnik (US), widely exhibited documentary photographer and co-founder of NGO, Foundation Rwanda;

Idris Khan (UK), artist

Sue Steward (UK), photography critic, writer, radio broadcaster, photo-editor and journalist.

4 January   – Closing date for professional and amateur categories

23 February  – Shortlist announcement

23 March – Category winners’ announcement

19 – 25 April – World Photography Festival

21 – 23 April – The Photographers’ Programme

22 April – Sony World Photography Awards ceremony


One response to “Sony World Photography Awards 2010 judges announced

  1. Pingback: Are you thinking what I’m thinking? | duckrabbit - we produce beautifully crafted multimedia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s