Visual artist Sophie Calle receives Hasselblad Foundation International Award in Photography

Sophie Calle © Adagp, Paris 2010, Courtesy Galerie Emmanuel Perrotin, Paris & Miami

I’ll be rounding up some photo news later today, but for now a quick snippet: French artist Sophie Calle is the 30th winner of the Hasselblad Foundation International Award in Photography. Calle receives SEK 1,000,000 (approximately EUR 100,000 or £93,000) and will be presented with the award on 30 October at the Göteborg City Theatre where an exhibition of her work will also open. Thom Bridge kindly sent me this news and has also posted about the award on his BonzoBonzo blog. For more information, see Hasselblad’s website where there are links to some videos.

From the website: “For more than three decades, French artist Sophie Calle has been questioning and challenging the relationship between text and photography, private and public personae, truth and fiction, in a groundbreaking, utterly original way. Her conceptually oriented work depicts human vulnerability and examines the interrelationship between identity and intimacy as well as the construction of official history. It evokes narrative, affect and emotion in ways that at the same time touch the viewer deeply and makes her reflect on the possibilities as well as limits of photography. Her contribution to the understanding of the medium of photography has inspired younger generations of artists.”

The prize committee:

* Claude W. Sui (chair), Curator and Head of the Forum of International Photography of the Reiss-Engelhorn Museums, Mannheim, Germany,

* Ariella Azoulay, Teaching Contemporary Philosophy and Visual Culture, Hermeneutics and Cultural Studies Program, Bar Ilan University, Ramat Gan, Israel,

* Vladimir Birgus, Curator, Historian of Photography, Professor and Head of the Institute of Creative Photography of the Silesian University in Opava, Prague, Czech Republic.

* Sergio Mah, Professor at University Nova of Lisbon, Portugal and the current Artistic Director of Photoespaña,

* Mette Sandbye, Associate Professor at Copenhagen University (Department of Art and Cultural Studies), Art Critic at Weekendavisen, Denmark

The complete list from previous years. Note: There was no winner in 1983. The immediate question is Why? I’ll have to see if Thom can find out.

* 2009 Robert Adams

* 2008 Graciela Iturbide

* 2007 Nan Goldin

* 2006 David Goldblatt

* 2005 Lee Friedlander

* 2004 Bernd & Hilla Becher

* 2003 Malick Sidibé

* 2002 Jeff Wall

* 2001 Hiroshi Sugimoto

* 2000 Boris Mikhailov

* 1999 Cindy Sherman

* 1998 William Eggleston

* 1997 Christer Strömholm

* 1996 Robert Frank

* 1995 Robert Häusser

* 1994 Susan Meiselas

* 1993 Sune Jonsson

* 1992 Josef Koudelka

* 1991 Richard Avedon

* 1990 William Klein

* 1989 Sebastião Salgado

* 1988 Edouard Boubat

* 1987 Hiroshi Hamaya

* 1986 Ernst Haas

* 1985 Irving Penn

* 1984 Manuel Alvarez Bravo

* 1983 No prize awarded

* 1982 Henri Cartier-Bresson

* 1981 Ansel Adams

* 1980 Lennart Nilsson


3 responses to “Visual artist Sophie Calle receives Hasselblad Foundation International Award in Photography

  1. There was no award in 1983 due to the death of Victor Hasselblad’s wife, Erna Hasselblad.

  2. It was the first think I asked when I got to Hasselblad!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s