Photo News – Sony World Photography Awards 2011 winners announced

I am still on holiday – well, sort of – as I have been sent the list of winners for the Sony World Photography Awards and thought that I should post them as soon as I could for all Hotshoe Blogs loyal readers. I’m now in San Diego, which is eight hours behind ol’ Blighty, and it’s nearly 10pm, so I’ll wait until tomorrow to upload some of the winning photos.

Congratulations to Renhui Zhao, who I met last year at a portfolio review at Whitechapel Gallery, as well as to all the other winners.

For now, here is a quick run down of the winners:

Argentinean photographer Alejandro Chaskielberg wins the L’Iris D’Or Sony World Photography Awards Photographer of the Year. See Brighton Photo Biennial post from last year.

Chan Kwok Hung announced as overall Open winner and the legendary Bruce Davidson receives the Outstanding Contribution to Photography Award.

Chosen by the 2011 Honorary Judging Committee, chaired by Francis Hodgson, the professional category winners are:


Current Affairs
* Winner: Javier Arcenillas (Spain)

* 2nd: Robin Hammond (New Zealand) / Panos

* 3rd: Ahmad Masood, (Afghanistan) / Reuters

Contemporary Issues
* Winner: Javier Arcenillas (Spain)

* 2nd: Christian Lutz (Switzerland) / Agence VU

* 3rd: Balazs Gardi (Hungary) /

* Winner: Alejandro Chaskielberg (Argentina)/ Michael Hoppen Gallery

* 2nd: Denis Rouvre (France)

* 3rd: Lucia Herrero (Spain)

* Winner: Pavel Wolberg (Israel)

* 2nd: Javier Arcenillas (Spain)

* 3rd: Palmer + Pawel (United Kingdom)

Arts and Culture
* Winner: Amit Madheshiya (India)

* 2nd: Tommaso Bonaventura (Italy)

* 3rd: Mahesh Shantaram (India)


* Winner: Adam Hinton (United Kingdom) / Saatchi & Saatchi

* 2nd: Richard Bailey (United Kingdom)

* 3rd: Tomg Meng (China)

* Winner: Liz Loh-Taylor (Australia)

* 2nd: Javier Arcenillas (Spain)

* 3rd: Andrew McConnell (Ireland) / Panos

* Winner: Saja Seus (Germany)

* 2nd: Frank Bayh & Steff Rosenberger-Ochs (Germany)

* 3rd: Fabrizio Cestari (Italy)


* Winner: Alnis Stakle (Latvia)

* 2nd: Frank Meyl (Germany)

* 3rd: Frank Bayh & Steff Rosenberger-Ochs (Germany)

* Winner: Alain Willaume (France)/ Tendance Floue /Galerie Vu

* 2nd: David Kretschmer (Germany)

* 3rd: Paolo Verzone (Italy) / Agence VU

* Winner: Florence Iff (Switzerland)

* 2nd: Guido Castagnoli (Italy) /Periscope Creative

* 3rd: Frank Day (United States)

Still Life
* Winner: Renhui Zhao (Singapore)

* 2nd: Peter Franck (Germany)

* 3rd: Charles Emerson (United Kingdom)

* Winner: Paul Gisbrecht (Germany)

* 2nd: Ana Cop (Canada)

* 3rd: Zhongyin Gao (China)


2 responses to “Photo News – Sony World Photography Awards 2011 winners announced

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s