Photo Shots – Photography and Death at Photofusion with work by Andre Penteado and Joachim Froese


DETAILS in photos above from Dad’s Suicide by Andre Penteado

I went, I saw, I listened. Thanks to Photofusion, Sue Steward, Andre Penteado and Joachim Froese for a thought-provoking evening of conversation, lively discussion and viewing themed around the sensitive subject of death.

For those of you who like to look rather than read, see over for more photos. Reflections to come – I want to have a chat on the blog with Andre about his body of work Dad’s Suicide, so will leave it until then.

All iPhone photos © Miranda Gavin.

(L-R) Andre Penteado, Sue Steward and Joachim Froese

5 responses to “Photo Shots – Photography and Death at Photofusion with work by Andre Penteado and Joachim Froese

  1. Just looking at your iphone photos gave me a strong impression of Joachim’s feelings around the death of his father. His images must be even more powerful.

    • Thanks for commenting. One thing, do you mean Joachim’s feelings around his mother, or Andre’s around his father? The clothes and hangers and neon signature, are Andre’s work, while the china, book stacks and shelves are by Joachim using objects from his late mother’s estate. Hope this clarifies things, Miranda

      • Many apologies to both Joachim and Andre. I think this was because Joachim’s name appeared at the top before the neon signature and my eyes just ran down. There may also have been particular memories evoked for me as my parents died suddenly, at a relatively young age, and within eight weeks of each other, so I had to deal with two sets of personal belongings both of which had strong associations for me.
        Both sets of images are powerful in themselves.
        Catherine

  2. Pingback: Photo Shows – Group show I LOVE YOU opens at Tenderpixel London and Mahtab Hussain’s Building Desires on show at mac Birmingham | HotshoeBlog: Fresh Perspectives on Contemporary Photography

  3. Pingback: Photo Shows – Group show I LOVE YOU opens at Tenderpixel London and Mahtab Hussain’s Building Desires on show at mac Birmingham

Leave a Reply

