Tag Archives: Sony World Photography Awards 2010

Sony World Photography Awards 2010 Amateur category winners announced

WINNER © Fredrik Jalhed, Lennart takes a bath, courtesy of Sony World Photography Awards 2010

A quick news post for today as the winners of the Sony World Photography Awards 2010 Amateur categories have been announced. I will return to the SEX auction tomorrow once I have some better sized images. For today, here are the nine winners selected from 43,745 amateur submissions from 144 countries. I have chosen some of the winning images that I particularly like. In the Conceptual & Constructed category, I have also selected an image by a young Czech photographer, Martin Stranka, from the same category who was shortlisted and whose work I will definitely be keeping an eye on.

The winners are:

Architecture – Marianna Marcantonini, Italy

Conceptual & Constructed – Jake Lowe, Australia

Documentary – Fredrik Jalhed, Sweden

Fashion – Alex Chebotar, Russia

Landscape – Hayri Kodal, Turkey

Music – Vitali Seitz, Germany

Natural History – Alex Goh, Malaysia

Portraiture – Richard Brocken, The Netherlands

Sport – Maksym Gorbatskyi, Ukraine

The winners were chosen by the Honorary Judging Committee, comprising world-renowned photographers, curators and representatives from leading international photo agencies, from a shortlist that was pre-selected by inspectors from iStockphoto. The amateur category winners will be showcased at the Winners’ Exhibition as part of the World Photography Festival in Cannes from 22-27 April. Each photographer will have their work published in the Sony World Photography Awards Winners’ Book and will then be exhibited around the world throughout 2010 and 2011 as part of the Sony World Photography Awards Global Tour.

The overall Sony World Photography Awards, Amateur Photographer of the Year will be chosen from the nine category winners and announced at the Sony World Photography Awards ceremony and gala evening in Cannes on Thursday 22 April. The overall winning amateur photographer will receive a $5,000 cash prize as well as Sony camera equipment. All the winning and shortlisted amateur images can be viewed at Sony World Photography Awards.

WINNER © Alex Chebotar, Extravaganza, courtesy of Sony World Photography Awards 2010

Want to Read more?


Sony World Photography Awards 2010 shortlist announced

Orlando dos Santos, (Portugal), courtesy of Sony World Photography Awards 2010. Finalist: Professional Fashion

It’s all numbers where the Sony World Photography Awards 2010 is concerned. The judging committee has selected the shortlist from over 80,000 professional and amateur photography submissions submitted by 190 photographers from 48 countries. In fact, it seems that this appears to be one of the measures of a successful competition. For me, however, it is not the numbers that count but the quality of the content.

For now, here are the some of the names of the shortlisted finalists in a few of the categories across Professional and Amateur. For the full list, visit Sony World Photography Awards website. Given that it is February in London and it is dank, dark and wet, I have selected photos which have a feel-good factor, that is with lots of pink, pale blue and traces of sunshine. A quick congratulations to Edgar Martins (United Kingdom) who is a finalist for the second year running in Conceptual & Constructed. Martins curates the Crude Metaphors section in HotShoe magazine.

There are 12 categories within the three subject genres: Photojournalism and Documentary (Current Affairs, Sport, Contemporary Issues and Arts and Entertainment); Commercial (Advertising, Fashion and Music) and Fine Art (Portraiture, Conceptual and Constructed, Natural History, Landscape and Architecture).

Current affairs
Walter Astrada (Argentina)

Marcus Bleasdale (Norway)

Marco Bulgarelli (Italy)

Adam Dean (UK)

Fayaz Kabli (India)

Alfonso Moral (Spain)

Espen Rasmussen (Norway)

Brent Stirton (South Africa)

Robin Utrecht (Netherlands)

Veronique de Viguerie (France)

Munem Wasif (Bangladesh)

Contemporary issues
Tommaso Ausili (Italy)

Bieke Depoorter (Belgium)

Carlo Gianferro (Italy)

Kuba Kaminski (Poland)

Davide Monteleone (Italy)

George Osodi (Nigeria)

Xingkai Ouyang (China)

Lukasz Sokol (Poland)

Andy Spyra (Germany)

Marco Vernaschi (Italy)

Want to Read more?

Sony World Photography Awards 2010 judges announced

© David Zimmerman, the 2009 L’Iris D’Or winner with his Desert Landscapes project

Sony World Photography Awards 2010 has announced the judges for the competition including photographers and visual artists working with photography. The Honorary Jury for the Sony World Photography Awards 2010 is made up of 12 specially selected World Photography Organisation Academy members. For the professional awards selection, “the 12 members will initially judge within their respective photographic genres of expertise. Later, as one collective group, they will select the overall winners in both the amateur and professional programmes, and the overall winner, the L’Iris D’Or”.  Last year’s L’Iris D’Or was awarded to David Zimmerman for his Desert Landscapes project. A jury for the Student Focus programme is also selected from the Academy members. The official pre-selection committee of the amateur competition is iStockphoto, “the internet’s original member-generated image and design community”.

For a name check on the judges, links to some of their work and a photograph from one of last year’s category winners of a lovely little Joey, surf on:

Want to Read more?