Tag Archives: Sony World Photography Awards 2011

Open winners announced in Sony World Photography Awards 2011

After Dark, Thailand: "It's a floating lantern at Chiang Mai, Thailand. We believe that it's a symbolic of problems and worries floating away." © Chumlong Nilkon courtesy of courtesy of Sony World Photography Awards 2011

The ten winners in the Open category have been announced for the 2011 Sony World Photography Awards. The winning images will be exhibited as part of the World Photography festival from 26 April-22 May. There were over 51,000 submissions from 148 counties. I have just requested some photos so will post a little later, till then:


Action: Chan Kwok Hung (Hong Kong)
After Dark: Chumlong Nilkon (Thailand)
Architecture: Marek Troszczynski (Poland)
Arts & Culture: Hubert Januar (Indonesia)
Fashion: Edina Csoboth (Hungary)
Nature & Wildlife: Andiyan Lutfi (Indonesia)
Panoramic: Wolfgang Weinhardt (Germany)
People: Raghuranjan Sarkar (India)
Smile: Carlos Henrique Reinesch (Brazil)
Travel: James Chong (Singapore)


Sony World Photography Awards 2011 – Shortlist announced

Sony World Photography Awards 2011
The shortlist for the 2011 Sony World Photography Awards has been announced. The professional competition spans the three genres of Photojournalism & Documentary, Fine Art and Commercial, while the Open competition is for photographers of all abilities.

“The 2011 competition has attracted more submissions than ever before, reaching all corners of the globe, with over 105,000 entries from 162 counties. The shortlist includes a number of winners and finalists from previous years including Amit Madheshiya, Peter Frank, Denis Rouvre , Giulio Di Sturco and Tommaso Bonaventura.

In the Professional competition there are 15 categories within the three subject genres:

Photojournalism & Documentary (Current Affairs, Contemporary Issues, People, Arts & Culture and Sport)

Commercial (Campaign, Travel, Lifestyle, Still Life and Fashion) and Fine Art (Architecture, Portraiture, Landscape, Still Life and Conceptual).

There are ten categories in the Open competition for anyone with an interest in photography. They are: Action, After Dark, Architecture, Arts & Culture, Fashion, Nature & Wildlife, Panoramic, People, Smile and Travel.

“The category winners and the overall Sony World Photography Awards Open Photographer of the Year will be chosen by the final selection jury comprising Francis Hodgson, Andrew Saunders, Vice President, Creative Imagery, Getty Images; Joseph Jean Rolland Dubé, Vice President, Content Development, iStockphoto; Yann Salmon-Legagneur (Sony Europe Marketing -DSLR) and Paul Genge (Sony UK Technical Marketing – DSLR).

“The Sony World Photography Awards winners will be showcased as part of the World Photography Festival and Exhibitions at Somerset House in London. The festival programme, which runs from 26 April to 1 May, with talks, screenings, portfolio reviews, peer critiques and workshops.

“The winners of the Professional categories will be announced on Thursday 27 April at the Sony World Photography Awards ceremony. For the first time this will be held at the Odeon Leicester Square in London having been in Cannes, France in previous years. Also on the night, the winner of the coveted L’Iris D’Or / Sony World Photography Awards Photographer of the Year, will be announced. They will receive $25,000 and professional Sony camera equipment. The overall winner of the Open competition will receive a $5,000 cash prize as well as Sony camera equipment. The final presentation of the night will be in honour of the recipient of the Outstanding Contribution to Photography.

Professional shortlisted photographers
In each category the judges could select up to three finalist photographers and up to seven additional shortlist photographers. From the finalists, the winners plus 2nd and 3rd place will be chosen and announced at the awards ceremony on 27 April.

Photographers are listed alphabetically.

Honorary judging committee: Chair, Elisabeth Biondi (US), Visuals Editor, The New Yorker Magazine; Pedro Meyer (Mexico), photographer and founder of ZoneZero: Stephen Mayes (US), Managing Director, VII Photo Agency; Rena Effendi (Azerbaijan), awardwinning social documentary photographer.

Current Affairs
Javier Arcenillas (Spain)
Robin Hammond (New Zealand) / Panos Pictures
Ahmad Masood, (Afghanistan) / Reuters

Filip Ćwik (Poland)
William Daniels (France)
Adam Dean (United Kingdom)
Giulio Di Sturco (Italy)
Emiliano Larizza (Italy)
Angelos Tzortzinis (Greece)

Contemporary Issues
Javier Arcenillas (Spain)
Balazs Gardi (Hungary) / basetrack.org
Christian Lutz (Switzerland) / Agence VU

David Chancellor (United Kingdom)
Sebastian Liste (Spain)
Anastasia Taylor-Lind (United Kingdom)
Riccardo Venturi (Spain)

Alejandro Chaskielberg (Argentina)
Lucia Herrero (Spain)
Denis Rouvre (France)

Mathieu Asselin (France)
Jodi Bieber (South Africa)
Tommaso Bonaventura (Italy)
Espen Rasmussen (Norway)
Martin Roemers (Netherlands)
Alnis Stakle (Latvia) / Photographer ru
Hormis Tharakan (India)

Javier Arcenillas (Spain)
Palmer + Pawel (United Kingdom)
Pavel Wolberg (Israel)

Dilip Bhatia (India)
Alexey Bushov (Russian Federation)
Viktor Fischer (Czech Republic)
Radek Kalhous (Czech Republic)
Alex Kudenko (Russian Federation)
Vladimir Pomortsev (Russian Federation)
Bernd Seydel (Germany)

Arts and Culture
Tommaso Bonaventura (Italy)
Amit Madheshiya (India)
Mahesh Shantaram (India)

Jacek Świerczyński (Poland)
Fabio Cuttica (Italy)
William Daniels (France)
Radek Kalhous (Czech Republic)
Spencer Murphy (United Kingdom)
Wojciech Grzedzinski Bartek Sadowski (Poland)
Les Slesnick (United States)


Continue reading