Arles Discovery Award 2009 winner

VIKSRAITIS_01

Farmstead Dreams, © Rimaldas Viksraitis, 2001

The winner of the Discovery Award, and deservedly so, was Rimaldas Viksraitis who received a bouquet of flowers and a prize of 25,000 Euros. The Contemporary Book award went to JH Engstrom and Anders Peterson’s collaborative book From Back Home, which was another popular choice, judging by the response of the packed amphitheatre.

Maybe you can’t really go back home. But this is where I’m from, these images pay homage to the people and landscapes that are my origin. I’ve returned to something my body and emotions recognise” – JH Engstrom


I’m carrying my camera, shooting these old dreams through the foliage. It means my memories can never be destroyed because they no longer end in themselves.” – Anders Petersen you can’t reo back home. But this is where I’m from, these images pay homage to the people and landscapes that are my origin. I’ve returned to something my body and emotions recognise”<

“I’m carrying my camera, shooting these old dreams through the foliage. It means my memories can never be destroyed because they no longer end in themselves.” – Anders Petersen

3 responses to “Arles Discovery Award 2009 winner

  1. Pingback: RIMALDAS VIKŠRAITIS IR TIKROJI LIETUVA

  2. Pingback: Photo News and Shows Saturday Extras « HotBlog: Fresh Perspectives on Contemporary Photography

  3. Pingback: RIMALDAS VIKŠRAITIS IR TIKROJI LIETUVA | uagadugu

Leave a comment